• Home
  • REACH 2024 High School Paper Contest

REACH 2024 High School Paper Contest

  • 13 Jan 2024
  • 1:00 PM - 4:00 PM
  • 79



Houston is known as the "Energy Capital of the World". It is not only the center of the petrochemical industry in the United States, but also a high-tech center for aerospace and medicine. With the energy industry chain driving the development of industries such as mechanical and electronic transportation, diversified economic development has ushered in a better future for Houston. To better understand the urban area you live in, get to know Houston, the ”Energy Capital “, Research Energy And Conversation for Humanity (REACH) is announcing the 2024 high school student paper contest.

This paper contest is co-hosted by Chinese American Petroleum Association, CAPA and TAMU Department of Mathematics, PReMa. The deadline for online registration is Oct 20th, 2023. We call for papers, PowerPoints, or posters on the following Topics:

1. Energy or Energy transition

2. Science in Math

3. Environmental Sciences

4. Chemical Engineering

5. Machine learning and its application in the above four major themes

Who: High school students are welcome to participate on line or In person. The judges will select the first, second and third prizes based on the content and quality of papers/ PowerPoints/ posters. Selected entrants will also be awarded separate prizes.

How to Register: please Register HERE, with your selected topic before Oct 20th, 2023. Group registration is allowed for up to 3 participants. 

Questions? contact us capa2019conference@gmail.com

Event Day: Participants should submit their works before Dec 31, 2023 and present their works in Jan 13th, 2024. Participants will present the content of the paper/ PowerPoints /poster to the judges in person or virtually. Presentation time is limited to 15 minutes per individual/group.

Looking forward to your participation!

REACH 2024 High School Paper Contest Committee

Keyang Huang (Chair), Richard Zhang (Co-Chair), Emily Zeng (Co-Chair), Josie Lau, Ansen Ho, Anya Ho, Allen Li 


 2023 Sponsors



Dr. Hong Jin

Dr. Eddy Lee

Dr. Kuochen Tsai


2023 Corporate Member



Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software