• Home


  • 30 Oct 2015
  • 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  • Marathon Oil Tower, 5555 San Felipe, Houston TX 77056


Registration is closed


DATE:   Friday, October 30, 2015

VENUE:   Marathon Oil Tower, 5555 San Felipe, Houston TX 77056





The Challenges and Opportunities to the Energy Industry for Anemic Oil Prices and Increasingly Stringent Environmental Regulations



Dear CAPA Members and Friends:         October 19, 2015

Chinese American Petroleum Association (CAPA) is pleased to announce and sincerely invites you to attend the 2015 Petroleum and Petrochemical Technical Symposium.  The Southwest Section of the Chinese American Chemical Society (SW-CACS) continues to co-organize with CAPA, and the Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG) continues to sponsor student paper contest.

This symposium will include key presentations form leaders in oil and gas industry during the morning general session:

Claudia J. Hackbarth (Manager, Unconventional Gas & Tight Oil R&D, Shell International E&P Inc.) - “Technology and Innovation for Unconventionals in Current Times”

Dawn Constantin (VP Marketing & Fundamentals, BP Energy Company) - "North America Energy: Where do we go from here?"

Dr. Kenneth M. Tubman (VP Technology & Subsurface, ConocoPhillips) - “Technology Development and Exploitation to Maintain Competitive Advantage in a Volatile Oil Price Market”

William (Bill) Barkhouse (Associate Executive Director of Business Development and GEOPHYSICS, Society of Exploration Geophysicists) - "The CAPA/SEG Global Partnership"

Dr. Marinda Li Wu (2013 President of the American Chemical Society) - “Partners for Progress and Prosperity: Challenges and Opportunities”


Parallel technical sessions in the afternoon will include 31 technical papers over six sessions:

  • Deepwater and Conventional Exploration & Production
  • Unconventional Plays
  • Engineering and HSE
  • Business Development - Panel Discussion
  • Student Paper Contest (two sessions)



Special recognition of CAPA sponsors will take place during the symposium luncheon.  Thanks to the strong support from CAPA sponsors, the symposium registration fees (including continental breakfast, lunch, beverages, symposium proceedings and parking) have been discounted.  Online registration for the symposium is now open at the CAPA website www.capaus.org.  Please register as soon as possible. 

Online registration for Members: $30, Between Jobs: $15 and Students: $10; Additional $10 for walk-in registration.

Note: To encourage participation from non-members and non-Active members in this symposium, registration fee will be the same as Active and Permanent members due to CAPA website and membership database migration.  Please also note that all future membership renewal will be effective starting on January 1st each year, and the annual membership will expire on December 31st.  The membership fee will not be prorated in the future.  For membership questions, please contact Yining Li (liyn2000@gmail.com) or Li-Fan Yue (lifanyue@gmail.com).  For symposium registration questions, please email to CAPAUSAEVENT@gmail.com

Parking tickets will be validated at the registration desk.  We encourage you to carpool for this event to show our support of energy conservation.


Thanks to the hard work of our steering committee, we are very excited about the upcoming technical symposium.  Detailed symposium program can be found at our website.  We look forward to welcoming you to this symposium.


Sincerely Yours,                                                               

Dr. Long Ma,  CAPA President, 2015

Dr. Bruce Shang,  CAPA BOD Chairman, 2015

CAPA 2015 Technical Program Committee:

Eddy Lee (Chair), Mark Chang, Jeff Chen, Zhenzhen Dong, Mei Yang, Tim Huang, Yining Li, Po-Ching Tai, Li-Fan Yue, Jing Xiang, Kuochen Tsai, Chang Wang, Hong Jin, Tracy Pan, Teng Xu, Linn Fang, Tai-Chang Shih, Meisong Yan,  Shengkai Duan, Billy Liu, Albert Ku, Joan Wu, Kim Shih, Jianxiong Chen, Yaping Zhu and Li Chang


 2023 Sponsors



Dr. Hong Jin

Dr. Eddy Lee

Dr. Kuochen Tsai


2023 Corporate Member



Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software